The National Chess Championships starts at CFSL
The National Chess Championships 2021 (Open and Women) was started quietly at the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka on 24th of December 2021. The selected top 14 players each are participating in the each category in round Robin basis in 13 rounds. The Classical Chess format of 90 minutes with 30 seconds increment from move one is the time control where the winners will crowned as the National Chess Champions for the year 2021. The Event is in progress from 24th to 30th December 2021 at the CFSL Headquarters at Gangodawila, Nugegoda.
Osheen De Silva (SL Navy) Denuwan Theekshsana (Ananda College) Susal De Silva (Nalanda College)
After the 2nd round three players in the Open section, Osheen De Silva(SL Navy), FIDE Master Susal De Silva(Nalanda College) and Denuwan Theekshsana (Ananda College) are in the lead with 2 points out of two games while three players,
Janandani Abeysinghe (NSBM Green University)
Dasuni Mendis (Passed Pawn CC) Chanindi Mewna Attanayake (Devi Balika Vidyalaya)
Janandani Abeysinghe(NSBM Green University), Dasuni Mendis(Passed Pawn CC) and Chanindi Mewna Attanayake(Devi Balika Vidyalaya) are in top with two points out of 2 games.
The National Chess Championships 2021 is conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka with a total cash award of Rs. 335,000/- as distributed below with other attractive awards.
Live Games can be taken from the following links:
Sri Lanka National Chess Championship - 2021
Sri Lanka Womens National Chess Championship - 2021
Tournament details are at the following links:
Stay Safe! Enjoy Chess!
Back to the Home Page