Anuruddha and Sayni Wins National B Titles

The experienced, GC Anuruddha, a former National Chess Champion won the Sri Lanka National B Chess title 2019 scoring 8 points out of the possible 10 games while Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera (Dharmasoka College), former Women’s National Chess Champion also scored 8 points to achieve the Women’s National B Chess Championship 2019, both convincingly. Both of them were unbeaten throughout the event.

The Sri Lanka National B & Women’s National B Chess Championships 2019, the best events in Sri Lanka in Swiss System was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka from 7th to 16th July 2019 at Polymath College International, Nawinna Maharagama with 110 selected top players in the country. The top twelve players of National B Chess Championship 2019 will play with Isuru Alahakoon and Harshana Thilakaratne at the 13 round, Round Robin SL National Chess Championship 2019 while top thirteen players from the Women’s National B Chess Championship 2019 will be selected to play with reigning National Women’s Chess Champion, Dinushki Premanath at the Women’s National B Chess Championship 2019.
Anuruddha had 6 wins and four draws to earn Rs. 50,000/= with the Trophy and the Gold Medal while Gihansa received Rs. 30,000/= with the Trophy and Gold medal with the same score of 6 wins and four draws in women’s. Young player, RKT Dissanayake from Dharmaraja College and Ranindu Dilshan loyanage of Ananda College earned the Silver and Bronze medals scoring 7.5 and 7 points consecutively. They are also awarded Rs. 30,000/- with the Silver medal and Rs. 20,000/= with the Bronze Medal.
Young Girls, MMWH Mapa and Ashvini Pavelchandran scored 7.5 points each and Mapa got the Silver Medal on the tie breaker. Ashnini, the last year National B Champion had to satisfy with the Bronze medal this year. Both were awarde the shared cash award of Rs. 15,000/= each.
Mr. Upali Gunasekara, Past President of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka, The Principal Polymath International College and Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya distributed awards at the prize Distribution Ceremony. 15 Games in each round was live webcasted at, the official website of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka.
The following players are selected for the National A and Women’s National A Chess Championships to be started on 28th of June 2019.
National A Chess Championship 2019 – Qualifiers from National B Chess Championship 2019
1 FM Galappaththi Chinthaka Anuruddha 2083
2 Dissanayake R K T 1989
3 CM Liyanage Ranindu Dilshan 1920
4 CM Wijekoon Chandana 1891
5 Ilampoornan Raguparan 1987
6 Randil Lakshitha 2000
7 Ariyawansa K A P M 2010
8 Danushka M A N 1923
9 Jayasinghe Keeth M S 1856
10 Thenuka Kuruwita Gamalathge Kinon 1750
11 FM De Silva L M S T 1824
12 Lamahewa C 1822

Direct Qualifiers
1. Isuru Alahakoon - (Reigning National Chess Champion)
2. Harshana Thilakarathne (Having a rating more than 2400)

Women’s National A Chess Championship 2019 – Qualifiers from Women’s National B Chess Championship 2019
1 WCM Jayaweera Sayuni Gihansa 1746
2 Mapa M M W H 1522
3 Pavalachandran Ashvini 1664
4 Fernando G W Nethmi L 1627
5 WIM Ranasinghe S D 1619
6 Dahampriya H K T Dewnethmie 1592
7 WCM Tharushi T H D Niklesha 1582
8 WCM Pallie Ehsha Mishela 1492
9 WFM Kodikara K K M Sachintha 1565
10 Premanath Prasansa 1551
11 Jayatilaka W M M Amodya 1522
12 Wickramasinghe Thesandi 1502
13 WCM Sanudula K M Dahamdi 1445
Direct Qualifier _ Dinushki Premanath (Reigning Women’s National Chess Champion)
Source -
Back to the Home Page