Sri Lanka National B & Women’s National B Chess Championship 2017

Sri Lanka National B & Women’s National B Chess Championships 2017 were held at Parakramabahu Vidyalaya, Muhandiram Dabare Road, Narahenpita. Events were held from 12, 13,14,19,20 and 21 May 2017. National B & Women’s National B were played according to 10 rounds Swiss system with the time control of Fischer time control of 90 mins and 30 seconds increment from move one.

84 Players and 64 Players were competed in the National B & Women’s National B events respectively. In National B event 12 players tied for the first place with 7/10 points. But with the better tie break D M G S Dassanayake won the championship. Isuru Alahakoon and FM G C Anuruddha had to satisfy with 1st Runner Up and 2nd Runner Up positions.
In the Women’s National B Event W A Tiumi Yasora won the championship with comprehensive performances. She was the only unbeaten player throughout the event. She scored 8/10 points. Three Players tied for the 1st Runners Up position. Chamodya Yapa Bandara, WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera and Sandali Kanishka Udagedara. With the better tie break Chamodya and Sayuni secured the 1st Runner Up and 2nd Runner up Position.
The winners from both National B and Women’s National B events will be compete in the National Chess Championship and Women National Chess Championship in coming days.
Report from Mr.Malith Akalanka(IA)
Back to the Home Page