Asian Chess Club Champions League 2017, Sri Lanka

Asian Chess Club Champions League 2017 organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka on behalf of Asian Chess Federation was held from 2nd to 8th August 2017 at Citrus Hotel Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka with a total cash fund of 10,000 US Dollars. Five teams from Zones 3.1 – to 3.7 of FIDE competed in the event. Tournament held as five rounds round robin event with time control of 90 mins with 30 seconds increment in every move
Teams are as follow
1. Saipa Chess Club – Iran
2. Saif Sporting Chess Club – Bangladesh
3. Sydney Chess Club – Australia
4. Bai Xue Qi Yuan – China
5. Sri Lanka Team- Sri Lanka

Every team consisted with five players and a captain where top ranking players played for their clubs. GM Parham Maghsoodloo from Iran was top seeded player in the event.
SAIPA Chess Club from Iran secured the Championship with total 8 points being victorious in each and every round. The gold medal for Board 1 to 4 have also secured by the Iran team. The SAIF Sporting Chess Club from Bangladesh and Sydney Chess Club from Australia won the 1st Runners Up and 2nd Runners Up positions with 6 match points and 4 match points respectively.

Team Players of the Iran Team as follows,
E Maghami Ghaem (GM) 2540
M Tabatabai (IM) 2145
A Ramezan Ali Pour (GM) 2537
M Mosadeghpour (IM) 2488
P Maghsoudloo (GM) 2590
In the Asian Chess Club Champions there were a total Number of seven Grandmasters, four International Masters and four FIDE masters from all the teams.
Sri Lankan team was able to win two medals in the board performances. Buddhika Amarasinghe placed best on board five and won the gold medal and Isuru Alahakoon palced third best on board three with a bronze medal.
Report from Mr.Malith Akalanka(IA)
Back to Home page