Bangalore, India team wins the Asian Cities Chess Championship 2015

Bangalore, India team members
1. Himanshu Sharma (IM)
2. Stany G A (IM)
3. Sanjay N
4. Raghunandan KaumandurSrihari
5. Satvik M

The Asian Cities Chess championship was concluded in Sri Lanka making champions from Bangalore, India team became champions again with 17 points out of possible 9 games. The winning city team was awarded the custody of the Dubai Cup with US$ 3000 and gold medals.
Qingdao, China team members
1. Fang Yuxiang
2. Xu Zhihang
3. Zhou Jiangnan
4. Li Wenxiang
5. WangQingwei

The Qingdao, China team scored 15 points and won the second place with US$ 2000 and silver medals. Team Bishkek City, Kyrgystan became the third and they scored 14 points to make it.
Bishkek City, Kyrgyzstan

1. Abdyjapar Asyl (IM)
2. Tologontegin Semetey (FM)
3. IsaevChingys
4. Taalaibekov Tagir
5. Mamatov Melis

Both Sri Lankan teams Colombo and Kandy was in the fourth equal before the last round. Colombo team played against the leading Bangalore team and they had a tough task and had only 0.5 points against them.
Kandy team played in the 5th table against the Brunei team and they managed to get only ………. Points/ draws/ defeats against them.
The Asian cities Chess championship 2015 was organized by the chess Federation of Sri Lanka from 22nd to 29th July 2015 at the Citrus Hotel, Waskaduwa, Sri Lanaka. Fourteen countries and eighteen teams from India, Sri Lanka, China, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, UAE, Afghanistan, Maldives, Palestine, Malaysia, Chinese Taipei, Brunei, Kuwait and Hong Kong participated in the event.
The award ceremony was held under the patronage of Mr. Upali Gunasekara, the Principal of Royal College, the former president of chess federation of Sri Lanka, Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya general secretary commonwealth chess association and the chairman of the organizing committee.
Back to the Home Page