Isuru and Sachini Wins the Sri Lanka National Chess Titles

Isuru Alahakoon (Sri Lanka Navy) won the Sri Lanka National Chess Championships 2012 after 7 days of exciting Chess at the Sri Lanka National Chess Championships held at the Etisalat Auditorium. Isuru scored a total of 9 points out of possible 13 games to win his maiden National Title. It is a great achievement from him since he has not even played for the National team earlier. GC Anuruddha also from Sri Lanka Navy tied with Chamika Perera (Trinity College) and Dulan Edirisinghe(Paul Morphy Chess Club) with 8 points and won the silver medal on the better tie break. Chamika Perera, the last year National Chess Champion had to satisfy with the bronze medal and Dulan Edirisinghe was 4th since he had the lowest tie break. WSVK Koggala(University of Moratuwa) tied with PKUM Jayasundara(Nalanda Colllege) and RS Kalugampitiya(Peradeniya University) with 7 ½ points and Koggala was 5th with the better tiebreaker.
It was one horse race for WIM Sachini Ransinghe (Musaeus College) because she won the event even one round before. Though she lost to SAK Chandrasiri in the last and final rounds with careless play she was far ahead than others and claim her 3rd National Women’s Chess Title with 9.5 points out of possible 13 games. She was the winner in the Nationals in 2009 & 2011 before. She won the Asian Zone 3.2 Championships 2011 and earned the 1st WIM Title to Sri Lanka. WFM Pramodya Senanayake, UGY Methmali and WFM Dinushki premanath with young SAK Chandrasiri tied with 8.5 points and Pramodya won the silver medal while Methmali won the Bronze on the Tie breaker used. Dinushki was 4th and Chandrasiri fifth.
The tournaments were conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka with a prize fund of Rs. 171,000/-. The Etisalat Sri Lanka had come forward to sponsor the venue for the event. The Awards ceremony was held under the patronage of Mr. Dumindra Ratnayake(CEO - Etisalat), Mr. Upali Gunasekara (President – Chess Federation) and Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya (Hony. Secretary – CFSL & President – Zone 3.2 of FIDE)
Back to the Home Page