Sri Lanka National ’B’ Chess Championship and Women’s National ’B’ Chess Championship 2010

Former National Champion T. D. R. Peiris (Diocies Chess Academy) moved to within a draw of securing the Sri Lanka National ‘B’Championship 2010, organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka and held at the University of Moratuwa. Peiris playing white destroyed Vidura Koggala (University of Moratuwa) in 23 moves to secure sole possession of the lead. A tense struggle between former National Champion G. C. Anuruddha and Romesh Weerawardena (Paul Morphy CC) ended in a draw with a threefold repetition.

The games on the next three tables were drawn quickly, as the player split points to improve their chances of clinching one of the 12 spots up for grabs in the National A. In the lower score groups, players fought tooth and nail to clinch the wins to keep their hopes alive. These tables saw tense and complicated struggles.

Of significant note was the fact that Luxman Wijesuriya after drawing with Dr. Thivanka Mallawarachchi essentially went out of contention. This is the first time in twenty nice years that the veteran chess player cum administrator (he’s also the Secretary of the Chess Federation) will not be playing in the National A or its equivalent.

Standing after Round 9: T. D. R. Peiris 7 pts, G. C. Anuruddha 6.5pts, Osheen de Silva ( T. S. S. Peiris (Dharmapala Vidyalaya), Udith Jayasundara (Nalanda), Romesh Weerawardena, Vidura Koggala, P. M. R. L. Bandara (University of Peradeniya), Chandana Wijekoon (Dark Horse CA), Chamika Perera (Trinity), Viman Bhagya (Nf3 CC) 6 points.

In the Women’s National ‘B’ Championship Dinushki Premanath (Kandy Girls High School) and Tiumi Yashora (Visakha V.) continue to lead with 7.5 points. Dinushki beat Anuththara Chandrasiri (KGHS) with white while Tiumi held Iridu Basnayake (KGHS) to a draw. These two have been in the lead from the start and have left the more experienced players in their wake. Fighting games were seen as players fought to clinch one of the 10 spots in the Women’s National Championship scheduled to start in May 2010.

Standings as at the end of round 09: Dinushki Premanath, Tiumi Yashora 7.5 points out of 9. Samasha Udupitiya (Maliyadeva Girls College), Mayumi Muhandiram (Maliyadeva Girls), Iridu Basnayake , Chaturi Hettige, Uthpala Hettikarannagoda (Rathnawali BV, Borella) 6 points, Samanthi Wettasinghe (Sri Lankan Airlines), Ayodhaya Liyanagedara (University of Moratuwa) Shalini Jayawardhana (S. Joseph’s Kegalle), Pramodhaya Sathya (Maliyadeva Girls) 5.5 points.

Report by, Naditha Amarakoon, Media Coodinator, Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Back to the Home Page