Fischer Chess Club Wins Inter Club Titles
Favourties Fischer Chess Club zoomed ahead on the last day as they overcame Paul Morphy Chess Club 3.5-2.5 and then settled for a comfortable 3.5-2.5 win over Wayamba Chess Club in the last round to win the 2010 Super League. It is the third time Fischer CC won the Super League and with their winning all 7 rounds will be supremely confident of winning the Super Leagues in the coming years as the tournament moves in line with the World Chess Federation system of match points. Rajeendra Kalugampitiya, Isuru Alahakoon, Akila Kavinda, Lahiru Hapuarachchi, Rasheen de Silva, Udith Jayasundara and Chamika Perera played for Fischer CC.
Super Knights Chess Club clinched the second place after tying with Paul Morhpy Chess Club but having the better Match points. Super Kinghts crushed Nf3 Chess Club 5-1 in round 6 and then dispatched the Reborn Chess Club out of the Super League with a 4-2 beating in the last round. TDR Peiris, Chandana Wijekoon, Shanka Munasinghe, Lahiru Munasinghe, TSS Peiris, Semuthu Pinto and Raveen Thirimawithana made up Super Knights CC.
Paul Morphy Chess Club had a poor day losing the first three games in their match with Fischer CC. Though the remaining players rallied to drag back 2.5 points, the tournament was effectively over and got thrashed by a Passed Pawns CC, also on their way out of Super League as they made a tremendous effort to score 6-0 to avoid relegation. Though they failed, the score of 4-2 ( easily 5-1 at one point) against one of the medal winners showed glimpses of the rich talent Passed Pawns CC, Champions in 2003 had in their ranks. Royal College can be proud of their fourth places with three of their players walking away with Board Prizes. An early favourite Nf3CC was solely hampered by the fact that some of their top players were not present for all rounds. Reborn CC and Passed Pawns CC have been relegated from the Super League.
In the Women’s Event Fischer CC comfortably won the event with a 5-point lead over Southlan’d College. The Paul Morphy Girls held Fischer CC to a draw in the fourth round but the latter were comfortable winners beating all others teams by large margins. Ashanthi Rajapakse, Chaturi Hettige, Thilini Koswatte, Lakshika Rajapakse, Shyama Rajapakse, Dulmini Karunathilake and Natasha Sanali were members of the Champion team.
Southland’s College Galle with their win over Paul Morphy Chess Club won the second place while PMCC got the third a mere point ahead of the Queen Pawn Chess Club.
In the B Division finals Navy Chess Club emerged Champions at the B Division Finals, with 21 points out of 30. Magnus Carlsen Chess Club clinched the second place and promotion to the Super League in a thrilling battle with Tarrasch Chess Club. Tarrasch chased a 4-2 win to secure second seemed to eliminate Carlsen CC that lead up to the last round but some fighting effort just got the early leaders through. The only disappoint of the day for Fischer Chess Club was the fourth place their Youth team had to settle for in the B Division Finals.
Navy Chess Club was made up of LPPR Jayanka, YPKWCV Silva, KSS Madusanka, WWAMR Lasantha, DADV Gunarathna, CDP Madusanka and LN Sameera. It was a very creditable showing by the sailors in their first Inter Club appearance.
By, Naditha Amarakoon
Back to the Home Page