The World School Chess Championship-2010 is scheduled to be held at Kayseri, Turkey from 20th - 31st July, 2010. This tournament is intended for school players of ages from under 07 to under 17.

Sri Lanka Schools Chess Association in collaboration with the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka has sent a chess contingent to take part in this competition. The players whose names appear below have been selected to represent Sri Lanka at this prestigious event. These selections were based on their performance at the Sri Lanka Schools Individual Chess Championship-2010 and the National Youth Chess Championship-2010.

Under 07 Girls: 1. Asani Sankalpana Weerasinghe - Southlands College, Galle

Under 07 Boys: 2. G.M.H.Thilakaratne - Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala
3. R.M.M.S.B.Madawala - Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala

Under 09 Girls: 4. Darsha P.Wijesinghe - Sangamitta B.V., Galle

Under 09 Boys: 5. N.P.G.Sithija Lahiru - Anura Junior Model School, Yakkaa
6. Anusara I.H.Movindu - Rahula College, Matara

Under 11 Girls: 7. B.A.S.Hasara Balasooriya - Musaeus College, Colombo
8. Lithmi Mindula Abeykoon- Southlands College, Galle

Under 11 Boys: 9. Supun Kuruppu - Ananda College, Colombo
10. Prasanjith Lorensuhewa - Mahinda College, Galle
11. S.M.Wickramasinghe - Ananda College, Colombo

Under 13 Boys:12. B.N.Thawalampola - Kingswood College, Kandy

Under 17 Girls:13. Naduni Abeywardana - Ferguson High School, Ratnapura

Team Manager: Mr.Janaka Hettiarachchi - Kingswood College, Kandy

Lady Chaperone: Dr.B.S.Madhubhashini - Doctor, General Hospital, Ratnapura

By Mrs.Nirmala Eriyagama, Secretary, Sri Lanka Schools Chess Association
Back to the Home Page