Women's Chess Nationals 2008

Vineetha wins National Crown for record 11th time

Vineetha Wijesuriya retained her national for the second successive year when she won her last round game against Mihirani Jayatillake. Lihini Walallawita of Musaeus College won her game against Ayodhya Liyanagedera to end half point behind the winner but required Vineetha to lose or draw her final game to become champion, an eventuality that was denied her by Vineetha.

This is the 11th year that Vineetha has secured the National Crown, having previously won the title from 1988-1991, 1998-2003 and for the 10th time in 2007. She thus broke the record she previously held with her sister Suneetha, who too had won the National title on ten occasions.

In other results Anjana Perera of Mahamaya College , Kandy beat Harshani Konara to secure third place and Supeshala Thilakawardena beat Dinushki Premanath to join Dilini Umesha (who drew with Samanthi Wettasinghe) on 8 points for the fourth place.

Ayodhya Liyanagedera, who needed a win to remain in contention for the 5th place had to be content with 6th place while Sachini Ranasinghe beat Iridu Basnayake and Lumbini Ambanwela drew with Navodya Selvaratnam.

Final Standings: Vineetha Wijesuriya (10.5), Lihini Walallawita (10.0), Anjana Perera (8.5), Dilini Umesha and Supeshala Thilakawardena (8.0), Ayodhya Liyanagedera (7.0), Sachini Ranasinghe and Lumbini Ambanwela (6.5), Harshani Konara, Navodya Selvaratnam, Dinushki Premanath and Samanthi Wettasinghe (4.5), Mihirani Jayatillake and Iridu Basnayake (4.0).