2nd Sri Lanka Youth (Under 14Yrs) Chess Grand Prix 2021

It is really a Grand Finals! SDBK wins by Armageddon Tie Break

SDBK Senevirathne of Maliyadeva College beat Sanudula Dahamdi of Musaeus College in an exciting match which went till the 3rd tie breaker, the Armageddon game to complete the Championships. When the final stage began at 9.00 a.m. 21st March 2021, Sanidula Dahamdi met SDBK Seneviratne in the finals and Brijeash Saravanabhavan of Gateway College met Dinul Vinsitha Weerasekera of Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya in the consolation finals.

Sanudula won the 1st round game playing Black pieces in the morning while SDBK Senevirathne won the 2nd game in the evening. So, the players shared the points and tie breaks were needed. The Arbiters set 15minutes in the clocks with 10 Second increments for the Rapid game. There ap.m. giving four minutes to Black, SDBK Senevirathne and 5 minutes to the white, Sanidula. JJust needing a draw for the Championship SDBK Seneviratne of Maliyadeva College came strongly to win the Armageddon game in style. It was really exciting Chess.
Brijesh won the consolation finals convincingly. SDBK Bagged Rs. 25,000/= with the Championship Trophy and the Gold Medal while Sanidula won the Silver Medal with Rs. 15,000/= in cash. Brijeash got Rs. 10,000/= with the Bronze Medal and Dinul had to satisfy for RS. 5,000/= with 4th place. The respective group winners, Sanidula, Dinul and Disal Weerasekara of Dharmaraja College in Group X and SDBK, Brijeash and Vivas Samarakoon of Royal College are awarded with the Group medals of Gold Silver and Bronze with winners getting Trophies.
The 1st round of the 2nd Sri Lanka Youth (Under 14Yrs) Chess Grand Prix 2021 was held with the participation of 24 leading Youth Chess players in the country from 9th to 14th with the health guidelines issued by the Ministry of Health and the Director General of Sports Medicine Unit, Ministry of Sports. The evet was conducted by Chess Federation of Sri Lanka in two 11 round, round robin events X and Y with the winner and Runner up in each group playing a knocked out event for the Championship.
The Prize Distribution was held after the event at the CFSL HQ, Nugegoda with Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, President of Chess Federation as the Chief Guest. Mr. Malith Akalanka, The Secretary General and Mr. Erosh Jayasinghe also attended.
Whole event was live broadcasted using DGT Chess Boards while a live streaming with commentaries from the National Chess Champion Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage and former National Chess Champion, Dulan Edirisinghe was arranged at Chess Federation of Sri Lanka FB Page.
We congratulate all the winners!
Stay safe! Enjoy Chess!
Back to the Home Page