Women International Master, Sachini Ranasinghe leads at the halfway Mark

WIM Sachini Ranasinghe (Nf3 Chess Club) is in the lead after 6 games of the Inaugural Sri Lanka Women’s Chess Grand Prix 2020 scoring 5 ½ points out of possible. Sachini who was four times Sri Lanka National Women’s Champion beat Dinushki Premanath, THD Niklesha, Oneli Weerawardena, Ashvini Pavalchandran and Prasansa Premanath in a row and gave a draw in the last, 6th round to Women International Master, Nelunika Methmani, who fought strongly to get the draw.
WIM, Nelunika Methmani(University of Sri Jayawardenapura) is following Sachini very closely with 5 points, just a half a point behind. Nelunika also beat four players and gave draws to Sachini and Janandani Abeysinghe (Mahamaya College, Kandy.) Tharushi Niklesha of Visakha Vidyalaya beat Sayumi Piyumanthi (Dharmasoka College) to place 3rd with a total of 4 ½ points.
The Event which was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka is the first Women sporting event of the country after the COVID 19 Break. The event is in progress on 25th, 26th, 27th, 31st July and 1st and 2nd August 2020 at the Chess Federation Headquarters, Delkanda, Nugegoda. The Chess Federation of Sri Lanka has offered Rs 70,000/= as cash awards with Trophies and Medals. The remaining rounds will start on Friday, the 31st July 2020 afternoon at 3.00 p.m. and continued on Saturday and Sunday with the prize Distribution, just after the event.
The results of 6th round
1.Sayumi Gamage (Musaeus College) Lost to Janandani Abeysinghe (Girls High School, Kandy)
2.WIM, Sachini Ransinghe(Nf3 Chess Club) drew with WIM, Nelunika Methmani (University of Sri Jayawardenapura)
3.Sandeepani M Tharushi (Devi Balika Vidyalaya) Drew with Prasansa Premanath(Girls High School, Kandy)
4.WFM, Dinushki Premanath(University of Moratuwa) beat Ashvini Pawalachandran(Wycherly International Schools)
5.WCM, Tharushi Niklesha(Visakha Vidyalaya) beat Oneli Weerawardena(Lycium International School, Ratnapura)
6.Sayumi Vimansa Piyumanthi Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda) got the Bye
Standings after Round 6
1. WIM, Sachini Ranasinghe 5 ½
2. WIM, Nelunika Methmani 5
3. WCM Tharushi Niklesha 4 ½
4. Ashvini Pavalachandran 4
5. Janadani Abeysinghe 3 ½
6. WFM, Dinushki Premanath 3
7. Sandeepani Tharushi 3
8. Prasansa Premanath 3
9. Sayumi Gamage 2
10. Oneli Weerawardena 1 ½
11. Sayumi Vimansa Piyumanthi 1
All games are live webcasted at the following link: >>> https://view.livechesscloud.com#afa448d1-8742-415c-9c45-8af2cebf8258
Luxman Wijeuriya
Tournament Director
Back to the Home Page