WIM Sachini Ranasinghe is the Chess Queen at Inaugural Sri Lanka Women Chess Grand Prix 2020

WIM Sachini Ranasinghe (Nf3 Chess Club) became the Champion of the Inugural Sri Lanka Women’s Chess Grand Prix 2020. Though she lost her last round game to young Tharushi Sandeepani of Devi Balika Vidyalaya, she scored a total of 9 ½ points out of possible 11 Games. Sachini was a four times women’s National Chess Champion in 2009, 2011, 2012 & 2013 and played in four FIDE Chess Olympiads in 2010 in Russia, 2012 in Turkey, 2016 in Azerbaijan & 2018 in Georgia. Sachini was awarded the Trophy, Gold Medal and Rs. 30,000/= for her performance.
WFM Dinushki Premanath of University of Moratuwa made a good come back scoring six straight wins to finish with 8 points after little poor performance in first four rounds. Dinushki was the National Women’s Chess Champion in 2010 and 2018 and has played in couple of Chess Olympiads in 2012 and 2018. Dinushki got the Silver medal with a shared prize of Rs. 12,000/=.
WCM Tharushi Niklesha (Visakha Vidyalaya) and WIM Nelunika Methmani (University of Sri Jayawardenapura) also finished with 8 points, tying 8 points each with Dinushki, but have to satisfy with the Bronze medal and the fourth place respectively according to the tie breaker. Tharushi lost her final round game to Janandani Abeysinghe of NSBM Green University and Nelunika Methmani drew with Ashvini Pavalchandran of Wycherly International School. Tharushi got the Bronze medal and both of them were awarded with a shred prize of Rs. 12,000/= each. Asvini Pavalchandran was placed fifth with 7 ½points and she was awarded with Rs. 4,000/= in cash.
The Event which was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka is the first Women sporting event of the country after the COVID 19 Break. The event was in progress on 25th, 26th, 27th, 31st July and 1st and 2nd August 2020 at the Chess Federation Headquarters, Delkanda, Nugegoda. The Chess Federation of Sri Lanka offered Rs 70,000/= in cash awards with Trophies and Medals. Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, General Secretary of South Asian Chess Council & Commonwealth Chess Association and a Vice President of Asian Chess Federation was the chief guest at the awards ceremony had just after the event.
Sachini, Niklesha and Ashvini are in the National Chess Team which participate in the FIDE world online Chess Olympiad to be started on 7th August 2020.
The results of 11th Round
1. Prasansa Premanath(Girls High School, Kandy) beat Sayumi Gamage (Musaeus College)
2. WIM, Nelunika Methmani (University of Sri Jayawardenapura)drew with Ashvini Pawalachandran(Wycherly International Schools)
3. Janandani Abeysinghe (NSBM Green University) beat Tharushi Niklesha(Visakha Vidyalaya)
4. Sayumi Vimansa Piyumanthi (Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda) lost to WFM Dinushki Premanath (University of Moratuwa)
5. Sachini Ranasinghe(Nf3 CC) lost to Tharushi Sandeepani (Devi Balika Vidyalaya)
6. Oneli Weerawardena(Lycium International School, Ratnapura) got the Bye
Final Standings
1. WIM, Sachini Ranasinghe 9 ½
2. WFM, Dinushki Premanath 8
3. WCM Tharushi Niklesha 8
4. WIM, Nelunika Methmani 8
5. Ashvini Pavalachandran 7
6. Sandeepani Tharushi 6 ½
7. Prasansa Premanath 5 ½
8. Janadani Abeysinghe 5 ½
9. Oneli Weerawardena 3 ½
10. Sayumi Gamage 3
11. Sayumi Vimansa Piyumanthi 1 ½
The game which affected the event the most:
Diniuski Premanath Vs Sachini Ranasinghe Rd. 01
1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.d4 cxd4 4.Nxd4 Nf6 5. Nc3 e5 6. Ndb5 d6 7.Nd5 Nxd5 8.exd5 Nb8 9.a4 a6 10.Na3 Be7 11.Be2 O-O 12.O-O f5 13.Nc4 f4 14.a5 Nd7 15.Bd2 Rf6 16.Bf3 Qf8 17.b4 Rb8 18.Re1 Qf7 19.Qe2 g5 20.h3 h5 21.Bc3 Rh6 22.Bxe5 dxe5 23.Nxe5 Nxe5 24.Qxe5 Bd6 25.Qxg5 Rg6 26.Qxh5 Bf5 27.c4 Kg7 28.Bg4 Bxg4 29.hxg4 Rh8 30. Qf5 Qxf5 31.gxf5 Rgh6 32.Kf1 Rh1+ 0-1
All games were live webcasted at the following link:
Inaugural Sri Lanka Youth Grand Prix 2020 is expected very soon. So, eligible players are requested to confirm their participation by 4th August 2020.
Luxman Wijesuriya
Tournament Director
Back to the Home Page