Sri Lanka National/ Women’s National Chess Championship 2020

Sri Lanka National/ Women’s National Chess Championship was commenced today (11th Sep 2020) at CFSL headquarters, Nugegoda in a grand style. The most prestigious National Chess Championships were started with a small Openning Ceremony under the Patronage of Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, the newly elected President of CFSL. Secretary-General, Mr. Malith Akalanka, Hony. Treasurer -Mr. Erosh Jayasinghe, Vice President - Mr. Dharshana Hewawasam and Executive Committee member- Mrs. Buddhini Wackista-aratchie were also present.
The top 14 players in Sri Lanka in both categories met each other for a challenging battle which will continue for 13 rounds in Round-Robin method. The most awaited event of CFSL chess calendar for 2020 was started in search of the National Chess Champion/National Women’s Chess Champion 2020 and the first five players will be selected to the National chess teams. The Chess Federation has offered Rs. 320,000/= cash awards with other attractive prizes for the event with National Champion receiving Rs. 100,000/=. In both categories 1st round was started at 4.00 p.m.
Luxman Wijesuriya
President - CFSL
General Secretary - South Asian Chess Council
General Secretary - Commonwealth Chess Association
Vice President - Asian Chess Federation
Back to the Home Page