Isuru Alahakoon wins the 2018 Sri Lanka National Championship for the fourth time and Dinushki Premanath (WFM) wins 2018 Women’s National Chess Championship for the Second time.

Sri Lanka National and Women’s National Chess Championships 2018 were held in the capital of Sri Lanka, Colombo. Tournament venue was Lions Activity Centre, Colombo and Event was held from 04th to 13th May, 2018.

There were 14 players competed for each event. 13 Players each selected from the Sri Lanka National B Chess Championships and both last year National Champions were eligible as the direct entries. Who were the Minul Sanjula Doluweera and Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera.
Isuru Alahakoon (ELO 2102) became the 2018 Sri Lanka National Champion with 9.5/13 points for the fourth year. That was a great show to watch where Alahakoon had to give one walk over in 7th round to Akila kavinda. CM GMH Thilakarathne (ELO 2186) secured the first runner-up position with 9/13 points and Akila Kavinda (ELO 2050) had to satisfy with the second runner-up position with 8.5/13 points.
In Women’s National Chess Championship WFM Dinushki Premanath won the championship comprehensively with the 10.5/13 points. She only lost to WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera in 10th round. WIM SD Ranasinghe (ELO 1789) had to satisfy with the 1st Runner-Up position with the nail-biting final round. She scored 10/13. Tenara De Silva (ELO 1972) secured 2nd runner-up position with 8/13 points.
This was one time moment for Dharmasoka College, Amabalangoda or any college in Sri Lanka. Both Girl (Sayuni) and Boy (Sasith) from same College. They were selected for the Sri Lanka National Teams in their respective events. They will represent Team Sri Lanka in upcoming 43rd Olympiad Chess Championships, Georgia.
The Closing Ceremony of the Championships took place yesterday evening, on 13th of May, 2018 and was attended by the Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, General Secretary Commonwealth Chess Association and Hony Tournament Secretary of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka and other distinguished chess figures and Chess enthusiasts of the country.
The both Open and Women Championships were played in 13 rounds, round robin system. In accordance with the FIDE Rules of Chess with time control 90 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from the move one.
Cash prizes were distributed among winners. Also, Trophies, Medals, and Certificates were given to the winners.
Sri Lanka National Chess Championship 2018

1 Isuru Alahakoon 2102 SL Navy Chess Club 9½
2 CM G M H Thilakarathne 2186 Maliyadewa College, Kurunegala 9
3 Akila Kavinda 2050 University of Colombo 8½
4 FM M Sasith Nipun Piyumantha 2219 Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda 8
5 FM Minul Sanjula Doluweera 2254 Royal College, Colombo 07 8
6 T G M Peiris 2091 Maroons Chess Club 8
7 Chamil Priyankara 2017 7½
8 CM Chandana Wijekoon 1943 SL Navy Chess Club 7
9 CM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage 2003 Ananda College, Colombo 10 6½
10 W S Vidura K Koggala 2015 Sutra Technologies (Pvt) Ltd 5½
11 C L Jayaweera 1787 University of Peradeniya 4½
12 R K T Dissanayake 1859 Dharmaraja College, Kandy 4
13 M A N Danushka 1883 Nf3 Chess Club 3½
14 Lasal Jayawardana 1909 Lyceum International School, Nugegoda 1½
Sri Lanka Women’s National Chess Championship 2018

1 WFM Dinushki Premanath 1771 University of Moratuwa 10½
2 WIM S D Ranasinghe 1789 Nf3 Chess Club 10
3 Tenara De Silva 1672 The British School, Colombo 05 8
4 WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera 1739 Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda 7½
5 H M H Janandani Abeysinghe 1650 Mahamaya Girl's College, Kandy 7
6 WCM I U Basnayake 1726 University of Sri Jayawardhanapura 6½
7 Sandali Kanishka Udagedara 1591 Pushpadana Girls College, Kandy 6½
8 WFM Dilhara Ishini Wickramasinghe 1592 Musaeus College, Colombo 07 6
9 WFM K K M Sachintha Kodikara 1560 Wycherley International School, Colombo 07 6
10 WFM H Y Nevanjee Dimanya Hewawasam 1571 Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo 05 6
11 Ashvini Pavalachandran 1632 Wycherley International School, Colombo 07 5
12 Shelani De Silva 1586 University of Colombo 5
13 WIM Nelunika Methmani 1702 University of Sri Jayawardhanapura 4½
14 W S T D Koggala 1532 University of Colombo 2½
Report by
IA Malith Akalanka
Back to the Home Page