Sri Lanka National (Major Division)/ Women’s qualifying Chess Championship 2018

Sri Lanka National (Major Division) Chess Championship 2018 – will be held on 13th, 16th, 17th and 18th of February 2018. The 1st round will start at 9.00 a.m. on 13th. There will be one round on Friday, the 16th of February at 3.00 p.m. while two Games each on other 3 days.

Venues and entries:
1.Colombo Event - DS Senanayake College Erosh Jayasinghe <>
2.Galle Event - Rippon Balika Vidyalaya, Galle. Ranjan Lasantha <>
3.Kandy event - Berrawaerts Primary School, Ampitiya Rajeendra Kalugampitiya <>
4.Kurunegala Event - Lakdas Maha vidyalaya, Kurunegala Werochana Perera <>
The Tournament will be FIDE rated with seven rounds on Swiss System. Fisher mode, 90 minutes each per a game is followed. The FIDE Laws as adopted by the CFSL.
The rated player below ELO 2000 and the players who played the Major Division earlier at least once are eligible to participate. All those who selected from Sri Lanka National (Novices Division) Chess Championship 2018 also can participate in the event.
The rated Women players below ELO 1700 and all unrated Women players can play in the SL national Women’s Qualifying Event. (Only the Regning National Champions, IMs and WIMs are exempted from this condition)
Registration – Players can register by sending a mail to or
Entry Fee – Rated players – Rs. 1000/= and Unrated players – Rs. 1500/= for both events.
Luxman Wijesuriya
Hony. Tournament Secretary – CFSL
General Secretary – Commonwealth Chess Association
Back to the Home Page