WIM, Sachini Performs well in National Youth Under 18 Open

Sachini Ranasinghe (Musaeus College), the Newly awarded Women International Master performed well in the National Youth Chess Championship Open Section. She opted to play in the Open section of under 18 Years Youth Championship this year and scored 5 points out of 7 games with only lost to National Player, Chamika Perera and two more draws. Ushan Samarakone(Royal College) and Chamika Perera (Trinity College) tied for the top spot in the Under 18 Category with 5 1/2 points and Ushan won the Championships on tie breaker games. Sachini placed 3rd passing a set of players whom are well ahead of her in International Rating.

WFM Supeshala Thilakawardena(Musaeus College) won the under 18 years Girls Chess Championship convincingly. She scored a total of 6 points out of 7 games to achieve the gold medal. Lumbini Ambanwela tied with Anjana Perera(Both from Mahamaya College, Kandy) for the 2nd place and won the Silver medal on better tie breaker. Anjana had to satisfy with the Bronze medal.

Young Harshana Thilakaratne(Maliyadeva College) had no resistence in under 8 open section where he scored full 7 out of 7 games. Harshana became 4th in the World Schools Chess Championship last year. Rayan Weerasinghe from St. Joseph's College, Anuradhapura had a same score with Harshana when he enter the final round but loosing to Harshana gave him the Silver medal. The Bronze medal was won by Ranidu Dilshan Liyanage of Ananda College.

In Under 10 Open also, there was a full points, 7 out of Seven games was scored by S Anojman of Royal College. Chamath Weerasinghe from Ananda College became silver medalist after tying with IMA Visura(Rahula College) and HLNB Haputhanthri(Dharmaraja College). Visura won the Bronze medal.

Asani Sankalpana Weerasinghe(Southland College) also won the under 8 Girls Championships very convincingly scoring full 7 points out of 7 games. She also placed 4th in the under 7 Girls section in the World Schools Chess Championships last year. Selani Weerawardena of Horagasmulla Primary College won the Silver Medal and Dilky Perera won the Bronz medal.

There was a close battle in the under 10 Girls among Binudi Yapa(Visakha Vidyalaya) and Nikini Yathra (Bandaranayake Adarsha Vidyalaya, Kurunegala). After a 3 games blitze tie breaker, Binudi managed to win the Championships and Nikini had to satisfy with the Silver Medal both with 6 1/2 points. Roshana Fernando of Ave Maria Convent won the Bronze medal with 6 points.

TTMDCT Tennakoon of Gampaha Bandaranayake College also scored full points, 7 out of 7 games. He had an identical score of 6 out of 6 in the last round with Dineth Naotunna(DS Senanayake college) and won the last game to win the Gold medal. HMAK Herath(Maliyadeva College) and Mojitha Gunaratne(Ananda College) won the 2nd and 3rd places on tie breaker after tying with 6 points each. Sajini Hasara Balasuriya (Musaeus College) scored 6 1/2 points out of 7 games to win the Under 12 Girls title. HJMRM Jayasundara of Maliyadeva Balika won the Silver medal on the better tie breaker while Hansini Muthumala (Ave Maria Convent) won the Bronze Medal.

Kashyapa Kulasekera(Vidyartha College) keep his record as the Youth Chess Champion again by scoring 6 points and winning the tie breaking games against KGMG Bandara of Kingswood College. Bandara had to satisfy with the Silver medal. MHN Kumara of Vidyartha College became 3rd with 5 1/2 points. MKT Chankanie of Southland College also had an outright win in the under 14 Girls event with 6 1/2 points while IDS Kahanda(Southland College) won the 2nd place on the tie breaker. Thinithi Ranasinghe of Sujatha Vidyalaya Matara won the Bronze medal.

Dimithri Premachandra of Kaluthara Vidyalaya won the National Youth under 16 title. He scored a total of 6 points out of possible seven while Lahiru Munasinghe of Ananda College won the Silver medal with 5 1/2 points. KAPM Ariyawansa(Vidyartha College) and Shanaka Munasing(Ananda College)he had to satisfy also tied with lahiru but Ariyawansa won the Silver medal.

Regning Women's National Chess Champion, Dinushki Premanath (Girls High School) won the Under 16 Girls Chess Championship convincingly. She score a total of 6 points out of 7 games. Irindu Basnayake(Girls High School) won the 2nd place with 5 1/2 points while Kavindi Senarath(Musaeus College) was 3rd with 5 points.

The National Youth Chess Championship was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka from 7th to 10th April 2011 at Public Library, Colombo. Earlier there was 13 District/ Provincial Championships were conducted in Colombo, Gampaha, Kaluthara, Galle, Mathara, Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Kegalle, Ratnapura, Kandy, Uva, Wayamba and Nothern Provinces and only the selectees from these events played in the National Youth Chess Championships.

Luxman Wijesuriya
Vice President - CFSL

Back to the Home Page