Chess Nationals 2008

Athula Russell wins fourth National Title

(Lankachess, June 03, 2008, 4.40 AM) Athula Russell drew his thirteenth and final game in the National Chess Championship Y.D.B. Madugalle to win the national title for the 4th time. His nearest rival, Gayan Peiris also drew his final game, with Romesh Weerawardena, to leave Russell one point clear of the field.

In other games, Akhila Kavinda drew with T.S. Mallawarachchi, Prasanna Kurukulasuriya beat P.M.R.L. Bandara, defending champ G.C.Anuruddha drew with T.D.R. Peiris, and Luxman Wijesuriya beat Osheen De Silva .

If Wijesuriya wins or draws his final game he will secure fifth place, edging out Weerawardena.

In the 12 th Round, Athula Russell beat Romesh Weerawardena, Gayan Peiris, beat P.M.R.L. Bandara, Chathura Rajapaksha drew with Luxman Wijesuriya, G.C. Anuruddha beat Osheen De Silva, T.D.R. Peiris drew with Prasanna Kurukulasuriya, Y.D.B. Madugalle beat Akhila Kavinda and T.S. Mallawarachchi beat C.K.D. Fonseka.

The tournament is organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka and was held at the Cooperative School in Polgolla, Kandy.

Final Standings: Russell (9.5) Gayan Peiris (8.5), Rajapaksha, Wijesuriya and Anuruddha (8) Weerawardena (7), Madugalle and Kurukulasuriya (6.5), Fonseka and Mallawarachchi (5.5), T.D.R. Peiris and Osheen De Silva (5), Kavinda and Bandara (4.5).

The first five, Athula Russell, Gayan Peiris, Chathura Rajapaksha, Luxman Wijesuriya and G.C. Anuruddha, accordingly are most likely to represent Sri Lanka at the forthcoming Chess Olympiad in Germany in November.