Supun, Thiranjeewa and Dulan were overall champions at Golden Square Chess Finals.

Golden Square Chess Association conducted their chess finals to give 02 Air Tickets to India on 20th , 21st and 22nd of March 2009 at Isipathana College, Colombo 05. There were two categories as the under 12 & over 12 with five rounds.

The champions of all the winning teams of the Golden Square Western Province Team Chess Championship
were entitled to play in this tournament.
Supun Kuruppu of Ananda College won the under 12 overall championship by wining all five games and will be receiving the money for the Air Ticket to India. Thiranjeewa Lansakkara and Dulan Perera of Super Kings Chess Club both shared the cash prize by getting 4.5 points out of 5 rounds in the over 12 category. International Arbiter Irosh Jayasinghe was the Chief Arbiter of this Golden Square Chess Finals.


Back to the Home Page