Hon. (Dr.) Rajitha Senaratne to head the Chess Federation

 By Luxman Wijesuriya, Secretary of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka


Hon. Minister of Construction and Engineering Services, Dr Rajitha Senaratne was elected for the President of Chess Federation of Sri Lanka unanimously at the Annual General Meeting held on the 11th of October 2008 at the Royal College hall. The Annual general meeting of the Chess Federation was postponed by the Ministry of youth affaires in March 2008 and was rescheduled to  11th October. All active affiliates of the Chess Federation have agreed to accept Dr. Rajitha as their head and have a lot of hopes in promoting this game through out the country with his support.


Mr. Upali Gunasekera, the principal, Royal College is in the Committee as Vice president while Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya was elected the Honorary Secretary in this Committee elected unanimously. The Executive Committee elected is as follows:


President:                               - Hon. (Dr.) Rajitha Senaratne, Minister of   

                                                  Construction and Engineering Services

Vice President                          - Mr. Upali Gunasekera, Principal, Royal College

Hony. Secretary                     - Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya

Hony. Asst. Secretray               - Mr. Erosh Jayasinghe

Hony. Treasurer                    - Mr. Pushya Gunawardena

Hony. Asst. Treasurer               - Mr. Chandima Rodrigo

Hony. Librarian                        - Mr. Shamine De Moraes

Committee Members                - Mr. Mr. Verochana Perera

                                                - Mr. Sarath Rupasinghe

                                                - Mr. Rajiv Thilakaratne

                                                - Mr. Gihan Dinesh Perera

                                                - Mr. RS Gunasinghe

                                                - Mr. Darshana Hewawasam

                                                - Mr. JKC Ketalawala


Back to Home page