Anurudda and Samasha Wins National B and Women's National Chess Championships 2009

GC Anuruddha (Fisher Chess Club) won the National B Chess Championship title after tying with veteran Player Luxman Wijesuriya (University of Moratuwa) with 7 points out of 10 games today. Anuruddha had a better tie breaker since he was playing in the top table from the begining. Anuruddha drew with Lahiru Hapuarachchi (Kingswood College) and Luxman drew with GM Pieris (Fisher Chess Club) in the last round of this 10 round Swiss System Chess Championship.

Samasha Undupitiya of Maliyadeva Girls College, Kurunegala also tied with Sachini Ranasinghe of Musaeus College but was given the Women's National B Championship title on better tie breaker. Samasha drew with Irindu Basnayake(Girls High School, Kandy) , who placed 3rd with 7 points while Sachini drew with Navodya Selvaratnam (Girls High School, Kandy) in the last game.

This is the 1st National Chess Championship title which is after Hon. Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, the Minister of Construction and Engineering Services accepted the presidency of the Chess Federation. Under his guidence, this Championship is going to the best one after starting the National Chess Championship in Sri Lanka. The organizers have arranged a Rs. 150,000/= cash award for the hole National and Women's National Chess Championshio Cycles. The National B Event was held from 9th to 13th may 2009 at Institute of Construction and Engineering Services, Pelawatte, Battaramulla. The Championships this year are sponsored by Sri Lanka Telecom Ltd.

GM Pieris, Rajeendra Kalugampitiya and Isuru Alahakoon all from Fisher Chess Club, Dulan Edirisinghe, Prasanna Kurukulasuriya both from Paul Morphy CC, TS Mallawarachchi (Kandy Chess Comunity CC) Shamine De Moraes (Nf3 Chess Club) and Oshadi Kottahacchchy (Royal College, Chandana Wijeskoon), Mihiranga Jayawardena (Blue and Gold CC) and Lahiru Hapuarachchi (Kingswood College) already tied for the 3rd place with 6 1/2 points and have posibilities of playing in the National A Chess Championship 2009 to be heald in June.

Jeewanthi Rathnayake, Navodya Selvaratnam, (both from Girls High CSchool, Kandy) and Naduni Abeywardena (Ferguson High School, Ratnapura tied for the 3rd place ) while Lakshika Wanasinghe GHS, Kandy, Lihini Walallawita (Musaeus College), Tiumi Yashora Dinushki Premanath, Samanthi Wettasinghe, Yashmi Lamawansa and Mayumi Muhandiram tied with six points and most likly except Mayumi all others may get a chance to play in the finals.

Luxman Wijesuriya

Back to the Home Page