International Master, Dinesh Sharma wins 'MORA KINGS' International Rating Chess Championship 2008
Indian International Master, Dinesh Sharma showed his pupremacy when he beat another Indian Master Aksat Kamparia in the final game of the MORA Kings International Rating Chess Championship, conducted by the University of Moratuwa yesterday. Sharma bags the Championship trophy, the gold medal and Rs. 40,000/= in cash for his top performance. Photo
The 'MORA KINGS' International Chess event was held at the University Library from 23rd to 29th of August 2008 with the total participation of 160 players including 3 International Masters and one FIDE Master from India over 9 rounds.

Dinesh scored a total of 8 points out of possible 9 games for his Championship. There were 8 players tied for the second spot with 7 points. The top seed International Master, Kartikeyan Pandian won the 2nd place with the better tie breaker while FIDE master Aksat Kamparia also from India got the third place. Local star, the National Chess Champion, MK Athula Russell was fourth while International Master, R Subramanium, GC Anuruddha, PMAB Athukorala, Gayan Pieris, WSVK Koggala of University of Moratuwa shared seven points. 9th place was shared by RMCM Rajapakse and Prasanna Kurukulasuriya.

The National Women's Champion, Vineetha Wijesuriya once again showed that she is the best women player by winning the best women's player award while Sachini Ranasinghe (Musaeus College) tied with her with six points but was awarded the silver according to the tie breaker. Lihini Walallawiuta also from Musaeus College won the Bronze medal in Women's.

The other Special Prizes are as follows:

Under 10( Boys) Best players
Gold - Niketh Gamake
Silver - Akhila abeyratne
Bronze - Sanura Ranmith
Under 10(Girls) Best players
Gold - Yenushi Samindya
Silver - Dilhara Ishani Wickramasinghe
Bronze - Anagi Kotttahachchi
Under 12( Boys) Best players
Gold - Nimantha Saranapala
Silver - Tharindu Vithanage
Bronze - Dimithri Mudith Premachandra
Under 12(Girls) Best players
Gold - WA Tiyumi Yashora
Silver - Monali Sachinthika abeykoon
Bronze - Samadini Pinto
Under 15( Boys) Best players
Gold - Lahiru Munasinghe
Silver - PKUM Jayasundara
Bronze - Semuthu Pinto
Under 15(Girls) Best players
Gold - Supeshala Thilakawardena
Silver - Navodya Selvaratnam
Bronze - Tharushi N Amarasena
Best unrated player
Gold - Wiman Bhagya
Silver - Yasas Kalana Kuruwitage
Bronze - AMCB Alahakoon
Best players rating between 1800 - 2000
Gold - Chamil Priyankara
Silver - Singhai Niklesh N Jain
Bronze - HLM Hapuarachchi
Under 15(Girls) Best players Rating below 1800
Gold - Shehan Seneviratne
Silver - RMTC Rajapakse
Bronze - Samanth Wettasinghe
Forwerd by Luxman Wijesuriya
Chairman Organizinng Committee.
Back to Home page