The Sri Lanka National Inter Club (Super League) Chess Championship 2021

This is to inform you all that the Sri Lanka National Inter Club (Super League) Chess Championship 2021 will be held from 26th February to 2nd March 2021 at the Sanhinda Hall, Gangodawila Nugegoda. This is the most prestigious National Team Chess Championship in the Country.
The following teams are eligible to participate in the event:
1. University of Sri Jayawardenapura
2. Kandy YMCA Chess Club
3. Nf3 Chess Club
4. Maroons Chess Club
5. Grand Prix Chess Club
6. Blue and Gold Chess Club
7. Anandians Chess Club
8.SL Navy Chess Club
9. Super Knights Chess Club
10. Pera Knights Chess Club
The Teams should comprise of 6 players + 2 Reserves. The event will be held on Round Robin Basis for 9 rounds. Each team should inform us a 10 players pool on or before 18th of February 2021 in which the final 8 players are selected for the Final team of the respective Club.
As usual two foreign players are allowed in the team. But, they should adhere to the Government COVID Guidelines. The last two teams of the tournament after final game will be going out of the Super League Championship next year and the top two teams of SL Inter Club B this year will get the eligibility to SL National Chess (Super League) Chess Championship 2022.
If any team in 1-8 withdraws, the 9th and 10th teams of 2019 Super league will be replaced accordingly. If a team of 9 or 10 Withdraws, the next team In SL Inter Club B will be replaced.
The event will be held according to the strict health Guide Lines issued by the Health Authorities and the Sports Ministry, Sports Medicine Institution..
The Chess Federation of Sri Lanka is offering Rs. 120,000/- as cash awards with other attractive awards. Live games will be webcasted and a live stream will be arranged on the Finals to be held on 2nd March 2021.
The reigning Champions are the University of Sri Jayawardenaura Chess Club consists of Chamika Perera (Captain), CMS Praneeth Kumara, Buddhika Amarasinghe, Akhila Rathnayake, Laksith Randhil, KDT Madushan, Chamil Priyankara and GTDM Premachandra
Stay Safe! Enjoy Chess!
Luxman Wijesuriya
President - CFSL
General Secretary - South Asian Chess Federation
General Secretary - Commonwealth Chess Association
Vice President - Asian Chess Federation
Back to the Home Page